Fabulous Ursula Costume at PortConMaine

7 Jul

My photography skills can’t even begin to do her justice! I spotted this beautiful cosplay Ursula Saturday afternoon at PortConMaine, an anime and gaming convention in Portland.

Also spotted at PortCon was this little familiar-looking guy, tucked in amongst the Pokemon characters in the vendors room, with Jack Skellington to his right:

I do so love anime conventions! Always a good place to wave the freak flag, and where else will you find movies like Gegege no Kitaro, a live action film in which the main character’s father is an eyeball? I spent just a day at PortCon, which whetted my appetite for ConnectiCon next month in Hartford. Which, uh, reminded me that I really need to get in gear on that Chimchar costume for my son The Wachamacallit…so I pulled out the project again tonight and made a little progress. Pal Mickey’s not the only one I’m making clothes for around here! (And oh yeah, sometimes for myself as well).

4 Responses to “Fabulous Ursula Costume at PortConMaine”

  1. Lisa September 21, 2008 at 8:18 pm #

    I am dying to see your Chimchar costume as my son has requested one and I can’t even find one on the internet for ideas…I goggled it and got your blog…

  2. Jennifer September 21, 2008 at 8:54 pm #

    Lisa, thanks for stopping by! I’ll drop you an email with some info on the costume.

  3. Manda September 24, 2008 at 12:22 pm #

    I am also interested in your ideas for a Chimchar costume. My son wants to be him soo bad for Halloween and I cannot find any place or even on the internet that sells a Chimchar costume. If you could let me know I would appreciate it.

  4. Jennifer September 24, 2008 at 12:32 pm #

    My son’s asked me not to share his cosplay picture online…but I can tell you a bit about how I made the costume.

    For the Chimchar costume, I used McCalls 8953, which is a pretty simple pattern (I’m a novice-to-intermediate seamstress). I used view C, used fleece (as I couldn’t find the right color orange fur), and modified it in several ways:

    * Sewing the ears onto the side of the hood, rather than the top

    * Making a large panel for the front, covering the zipper and giving the appropriate contrast-color belly. I used black silk cord to create the spiral, sewing it in place. I sewed the panel in place 3/4 of the way around, and then used velcro for the rest, so he could move it aside to zip/unzip the costume.

    * Making stuffed fleece pillows for the flame tail and the top-of-the-head squiggle, and simply sewing them in place. For the flame tail, I used two colors of fleece, with one basically an applique over the other to create the orange/red fire.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

