Online, Interactive Disney Parks Video

28 Apr

This just arrived by email from Disney Destinations: The Disney Dreams Profiler, an online, interactive video ad for Disney Parks. You plug in your name, number of children traveling with you, year of your last visit, month of your next planned visit, and duration of your visit, and it shows you various video clips somewhat related to your trip. Towards the end, you also have to choose between Adventure, Little Dreamers, and Fairytale Fantasy Vacations. You can choose to send yourself an email postcard (mine hasn’t arrived quite yet). And of course, at the final stage you can order the Disney Parks vacation planning DVD.

This is an interesting attempt, but falls flat. For example, it didn’t include information about the Pirates and Princesses Parties when I plugged in August, so I’m not sure how much your choices actually affect what you’re shown. And they didn’t seem to use any of the other information I’d given them either. So, this appears to be just like the various menus one has to navigate when calling Disney for vacation arrangements, gathering data for their marketing purpose but not to help in any way in their processing of your call. (If I’ve already punched my 10-digit reservation number into the phone, why do I then have to give it to the Cast Member who answers the phone?)

I ordered myself a copy of the current planning video, though I prefer last year’s DVD, featuring the guy who loves sitting on benches and the over-the-top stereotypical teenage boy, and the trivia game where you can win faaabulous points. If the Disney Dreams Profiler could capitalize on the humor and interaction of the trivia game on that DVD, it would be heading in the right direction.

2 Responses to “Online, Interactive Disney Parks Video”

  1. Kitty-chan April 30, 2007 at 11:17 am #

    Just a quick followup: I still haven’t received my postcard, and this morning I got email from Disney Destinations again offering me unique YOAMD letterhead (which I’m supposed to be able to personalize online), but when I click on the link I just go to the YOAMD web site.

    Seems they’re still working out some of the kinks on this new marketing piece. The letterhead could be cool, I dunno yet. More on that later, if the link ever starts working for me.

  2. Kitty-chan April 30, 2007 at 6:08 pm #

    I found the letterhead . . . but not from the email link.

    Go to the Disney Parks web site, and click on the Free Dreams Download button on the left navigation bar. The link to the letterhead will be in the next page that loads. The letterhead is themed with the various shades of blue you’ve come to expect from this new Disney Parks branding strategy.

Leave a Reply

