Mary Poppin and the Hippies

10 Oct

The Wachamacallit has a few words this week that I can’t resist passing along to the rest of you all:

I have the most interesting fact today. The other day, I was watching Marry Poppins, and I noticed that when they went to the bank, the bank owners tried to steal the children’s tuppins [sic]. I realized that the ‘man‘ was restricting the liberty of the children. Then I remembered that the movie was made during the late ’50’s early ’60’s. Thus I came to the conclusion that Marry Poppins inspired the hippies.

Feed the birds, people. Tuppence a bag.

3 Responses to “Mary Poppin and the Hippies”

  1. hannaem October 12, 2007 at 10:26 pm #

    So THAT’S my problem, I watched too much Marry Poppins as a kid.

  2. Marlowe October 15, 2007 at 1:01 pm #

    Hats off to Wachamacallit. Is he really the grandson of Hippies?

  3. Kitty-chan October 15, 2007 at 1:07 pm #

    He is not only the grandson of hippies (on his mother’s side), but also the grandson of the man who discovered hippies (on his father’s side)!

Leave a Reply

