Nitpicking Disney Fans on a Rampage?

24 Oct

Lindor Reynolds of the Winnipeg Free Press wrote an article for their travel section last Saturday, and made some of the common (and trivial) mistakes that many casual Disney fans do. And apparently, a couple dozen Disney fans took her to task, in a big way. From her column today:

I am a Mickey Mouse journalist who made a couple of Goofy mistakes in a travel article that ran in Saturday’s paper. For that, I deserve to: A) Be banned from Walt Disney World for life; B) Have my children seized by the authorities; or C) Die.

If you picked all of the above, you are likely one of the scores of angry Disney fans who e-mailed me this weekend to point out my errors (often using very impolite language), issue veiled threats and offer snarky comments about my lack of intelligence, suitability for my job and my general unworthiness as a mother and a human being.

The measure of this woman’s sins? Well, I couldn’t find the article in question . . . but the mistakes she refers to are really no big deal. My personal favorite?

“Explain to your kids that Honey I Shrunk The Audience isn’t a ride, it’s an attraction!!!” said one miffed Mouse fan.

Um, yeah, I’m not sure about the priorities here . . . does the long-term success or happiness of our children really depend on them understanding the difference between a “ride” and an “attraction?”

Reynolds claims that the outpour of email from angry fans was triggered by “a helpful Winnipegger who posted the travel article on a Disney chat site.” I’m sure I could find out which one if I poked around . . . but I’m not sure I want to know.

5 Responses to “Nitpicking Disney Fans on a Rampage?”

  1. Jon October 24, 2007 at 1:01 pm #

    I think its a 50/50 blame situation. The reporter obviously didn’t fact check as much as she should. It sounds like she experienced Disney as a first-timer and wrote about it as such. Finding the proper name for the tea cup ride is trivial for most readers.

    The responders are equally to blame. Rather than being angry at the author of a poorly written article, it would be better to write a long letter explaining things. Angry one-liner outbursts are not going to entice this author to dig deeper. She’s obviously a busy mother that is trying to do something special for her kids. Having the kids chose their own rides, or possibly not properly describing attractions is silly. She’s giving them food, shelter, and love…that’s what matters. The writers that slandered her as a mother are insane (I’d hate to be their kid).

    The surprise of the Disney PR person is something I felt too. Its that typical hypocritical behavior that stinks of injustice. What’s sad is that these people have been sniffing so much pixie dust, they forgot who the parks were intended for.

  2. BostonMouse (Chris Nolin) October 24, 2007 at 1:06 pm #

    http://www.winnipegfreepress.com/subscriber/travel/story/4061444p-4665126c.html

    I found the orginal article, which can be found at the link above.
    The sad part of the criticism is that the article is that it is titled “Mad about Mickey.” and is actually pretty much 100% positive. I could, perhaps, see folks defending Disney if it was an attack article against WDW but it isn’t at all.

  3. Kitty-chan October 24, 2007 at 1:25 pm #

    Thanks for finding that link BostonMouse! I’d only looked briefly, and didn’t find it. Now that I’ve read the article I’m even more surprised that people would send her hateful notes.

    Jon, thanks for your comment. Actually, I’d cut the reporter a break on the fact-checking . . . generally, at most major newspapers, that’s the responsibility of a Production Assistant or someone else on the Copy Desk. But I wouldn’t really want those fans to be sending their angry emails to the PA even if they knew who it was! (Full disclosure: Mr Broke Hoedown is a recovering journalist and former reporter.)

    I do agree with Jon that those who wrote emails have lost touch with the casual Disney visitor, the ones who don’t obsessively read the Unofficial Guide (ding!), listen to tons of podcasts, get involved with multiple Disney-fan media outlets . . . you know the type, right? 😉

  4. Eric October 24, 2007 at 2:56 pm #

    The Distapo strikes again!

    You must hate Stitch!
    Pixarization!
    Only Disney experts should go to Disney!

    *sigh* I hope the author knows the silent majority of Disney fans aren’t in this lunatic fringe.

  5. sambycat October 24, 2007 at 6:06 pm #

    speak for yourself, pirate boy! dis-stapo, indeed!

Leave a Reply

