Georgian Riot Cops in Mickey Mouse Gas-masks

9 Nov

I’m back in Reno for business again . . . this time for a 9-night stay. Everything always feels surreal in Reno, from the sushi-themed slot machines at the Atlantis, to the televisions in the elevator ceilings in the Peppermill.

It’s a little harder for me to keep up with blogging when I’m on the road. I’m in Reno to help put together a fairly large conference, and it keeps me running for very long days. I probably won’t be posting much until around Thanksgiving, given the work schedule. It doesn’t mean I don’t love you, I promise I do.

And on these long business trips, Mr. Broke Hoedown always has my back . . . I got up this morning to find he’d sent me a link yesterday to a creepy picture of riot cops in Soviet Georgia wearing masks that looks a lot like Mickey Mouse, but would seem equally at home in an infamous, oft-censored scene from the Kubrik film, Eyes Wide Shut. The full story is at the Times Online, but we found it on BoingBoing, courtesy of Cory Doctorow.

One Response to “Georgian Riot Cops in Mickey Mouse Gas-masks”

  1. Marlowe November 9, 2007 at 2:02 pm #

    Who would have ever thought that Mickey would turn out to be a fascist uberguard.

Leave a Reply

