American Idol an Odd Fit for Disney’s Hollywood Studios?

9 Feb

The blogosphere’s been abuzz for days about the American Idol attraction that’s been announced for Disney’s Hollywood Studios at Walt Disney World, opening in late 2008. I’ll confess I’ve mostly just been ignoring the buzz. I’ve never seen the show, so I can’t even weigh in on whether I like it.

But last night when I mentioned it to my son, he was appalled, specifically about the question of the judges, and how this would fit into the Disney brand. “It just isn’t American Idol if you don’t have somebody shouting insults at you with a British accent,” he complained over dinner. When I explained that the judging process hadn’t been announced, and probably not even sorted out yet, my husband said, “They’re all going to have to be Paula.”

So there you have it . . . the Broke Hoedown family is confused about the choice, and currently quite skeptical about how these brands can come together in a way that works for both. “Who Wants to be a Millionaire” was a much better fit brand-wise, even if attendance at that attraction ultimately petered out.

We did have one small piece of hope: Wouldn’t it be cool if Star Wars Weekends 2009 included a new competition, American Jedi?

One Response to “American Idol an Odd Fit for Disney’s Hollywood Studios?”

  1. Sue Thomas February 16, 2008 at 3:37 pm #

    I just saw online that the design company who did that CSI museum exhibit are behind the new A.I. attraction at Disney. I went to the CSI exhibit in Chicago and it was awesome. So
    I think these guys know what they are doing.

Leave a Reply

