Semi-Annual Pin Sale at Disney Shopping

11 Feb

I don’t usually list info here about sales at the Disney online store, especially given that it seems they spam me every single day with heart-stopping sales fliers. Pajama Pals 50% off? Suddenly I feel like I need Pajama Pals, even though nobody in my house could fit into them. Maybe some for my nieces? Maybe Pal Mickey? Do they even make them in preemie sizes?

But today is the Semi-Annual Pin Sale, and I feel the need to ramble about it. This thing drives me crazy. Is it feeding my pin trading obsession, or simply making it a tad more affordable? I just ordered a whole bunch of pin sets, for a cost of approximately $2.75/pin, including shipping. That is, assuming that the site is correct that all those sets were in stock . . . it’s been known to happen that the web site gets out of synch with actual stock levels.

Buying pin sets online and bringing them to the parks for trading is a mixed bag. On the one hand, sometimes I feel bad when the traders I’ve brought are smaller in size, as sometimes these pins are (it’s not always apparent with the sets exactly what size each pin is). On the other hand, sometimes there are really cool and attractive pins in these sets, and they’re usually not as ubiquitous on the Cast Members’ lanyards as the starter sets sold in the parks.

I do believe I would have resisted the pin sale if I didn’t have my next Disney Parks trip on the book . . . but I’m counting down to Star Wars Weekends, and the next semi-annual sale isn’t for another six months (look people, she can do math!), well past my June trip. And I’ve grown disenchanted with buying lots of pins from eBay, and the outlet store in Orlando is very catch-as-catch-can . . . do I sound like a junkie, or what?

Anyway, I won’t bother linking to the site since I figure they’re spamming you too, and besides, I don’t think the interweb has any lack of links to Disney Shopping. But if you too succumb to the siren song of the Semi-Annual Pin Sale, just know you’re not alone.

Leave a Reply

