Why I’m No Country Bears Fan

15 Feb

Recently on the MouseGuest Weekly podcast, Dan commented that I’m very “anti-somethings.” And well, I guess he’s right. I might not have had a large enough serving of the Kool-aid, because there’s some things that just rub me the wrong way. Hakuna Matata gets on my nerves, much to the chagrin of some folks at MouseStation podcast (listen to #135 if you wanna hear some ranting in strong disagreement). I’ve never had any interest in the Hoop Dee Doo Revue, though I did recently agree to partake of a bucket of chicken there with Eric next MouseFest, in exchange for his promise to go to the Bibbidi Bobbidi Boutique with me that same day. I have not, however, made any promises to ride Splash Mountain. That would take a much, much bigger bribe.

So, what’s next? Well . . . this week in Jentasmic! at StudiosCentral I explain exactly why I’m no fan of the Country Bears. But people, chill . . . there’s plenty of love to go around, and I’m sure the Country Bears are strong enough to live through my rejection. Just because I don’t want to visit them doesn’t mean you can’t stop by to cheer them up.

7 Responses to “Why I’m No Country Bears Fan”

  1. Dan February 15, 2008 at 10:48 am #

    You’re expecting Disney bears to be intelligent? That’s rarely the case in Disney History – Humphrey, Baloo, Pooh, Brer Bear… heck, even all the Gummi Bears had gaps in their intellect. Maybe it’s not that the Country Bears are calling those in the heartland dumb, it’s just Disney’s stance that all bears are dumb?

    -Dan!

  2. Jennifer February 15, 2008 at 11:04 am #

    Interesting theory . . . could Disney essentially have an anti-bear bias?

  3. Matt February 15, 2008 at 1:26 pm #

    It’s not just bears that are dumb. Need I remind you of this famous quote, “Stupid Judy…stupid energy”.

  4. Jennifer February 15, 2008 at 1:30 pm #

    Stupid energy indeed!

    Why is there not yet a “Stupid Judy’s EPCOT Fan Site?”

  5. Jon February 15, 2008 at 2:35 pm #

    Am I wrong, or are you actually arguing over the political correctness of the Country Bears? I think this is a case of you knowing real country-folk and comparing it to Disney’s version. Trust me, Disney does this to every culture. Look at what Lilo and Stitch say about Hawaiians. Do they all walk around in swim suits and leis? The ways the crows acted in Dumbo? Song of the South?

    All I can say is that you’re not only entitled to your opinion, you’re allowed to voice it! Disney is a media and marketing machine. They’re more vested in appeasing the masses rather than being sensitive towards any individual group.

  6. FoxxFur February 15, 2008 at 3:08 pm #

    I think Country Bear Jamboree is grade-A brilliant, for a lot of reasons but a lot of them are structural. The Bears are, regardless, quite exaggerated in a comic way (ever seen the uncut opening of Make Mine Music, with the hillbillies?), but I think as is evident in all of Marc Davis’ brilliant comic characterizations, there is a realm of truth under the silliness. Single case in point: on the far right of the Bear Rugs platform is the band’s fiddle player. If you watch his animation he basically spends most of the show raising and lowering his big bushy eyebrows at you. It’s hilarious and true if you’ve ever watched musicians who are *really interested in impressing you*. The Tuba player in the Biergarten in Germany does the same thing.

    I talk quite a lot about the structural brilliance of the show over at my blog if you’re interested.
    Linkie

    Suffice to say that’s it’s better paced, better produced and written by smarter people than most theater shows in Disney. the content of the show is frankly irrelevant to me in the face of its’ fantastic formal qualities.

    Hi, by the way, long time admirer. ^^

  7. Jennifer February 15, 2008 at 3:19 pm #

    Jon, I’m not sure my opinions are based in any desire for “political correctness” . . . although I have to say I find that an awfully loaded term. I actually think Lilo and Stitch is a more realistic portrayal of modern-day Hawaii than you suggest; Lilo and her family don’t spend much time in swimsuits or traditional Hawaiian garb, and are portrayed as pretty much regular folks going through challenging times (well, regular except for that darn alien social services guy). And um, we don’t really want to get into my opinions about the crows from Dumbo, do we? It’s already been established that I’m not a fan of Song of the South.

    FoxxFur, thanks very much, you make good points. I do believe this is a topic on which reasonable people can differ, and I admire your blog too. ^ _ ^

Leave a Reply

