An American’s View of Istanbul

23 Apr

My dear friend Steve is spending a month in Istanbul, and I was amused to read this Disneyland reference in his blog, wherein he is chronicling his adventures:

I want to go on record as saying I will never do another group tour like this again. If one more person asks me why I haven’t met the right girl I really may lose my mind. It’s not like home where I can just tell someone I’m a fag and be done with it. These people exist on a very delicate surface called “travel,” so nothing real is discussed. The other day everyone was talking about the wonder of grandparents and the love of children. I wanted to set myself on fire. I kept praying that no one would ask me about my family. I didn’t think I wanted to be that guy who tells the truth at a cocktail party when everyone has agreed to lie to each other. I hate being that guy.

Because children are the most important people in the world, my group has indulged the two children in our group. They were playing a game on the bus (during our 7 hour drive from Ürgüp to Pamukkale) that spewed the song “It’s a Small World” all over the bus. There was no escaping it, so I put on my noise canceling Skullcandy headphones and listened to Branca Parlic and the Cowboy Junkies first album. It matched the Turkish landscape perfectly and gave me a reprieve from the family hour on the bus.

Oh good lord, I even like that attraction and still cannot fathom 7 hours worth!

One Response to “An American’s View of Istanbul”

  1. sambycat April 23, 2008 at 7:39 pm #

    istanbul is gorgeous! but if captain mehmet, the somewhat “hobbit”like (and by that i mean bare and hairy-footed) guide up the bosphorus river had burst into “there’s a great big beautiful tomorrow” – i’m not sure how i would have handled it…

    and i sympathize with the 99 questions!

Leave a Reply

