Live Your Dreams

13 Jun

I don’t think I have to tell you that Graduation Days are always emotional. But somehow, this has come as a surprise to me. Sure, I knew high school and college graduations were emotional, but I had no idea that I’d be weeping the moment my kid walked out the door this morning, heading for his last day of elementary school…and I can hardly describe what it was like to watch him graduate today with the rest of his class.

So, how fabulous is it that today I won two pairs of Mickey ears through the Year of a Million Dreams? I’d mailed those little postcards daily for months, and in fact had recently given up on the whole endeavor. But this morning, as my husband stepped out the door to drive our son to that last day of sixth grade, he called out to me, “Honey, did you order something from Disney? Because if not, I think you’ve just won something!”

The day’s festivities are not quite over…there’s still a graduation party tonight, and our weekend is full of roller derby, Gay Pride, and Fathers’ Day events. But right now we’re enjoying a little quiet family time. My husband and I tap away at our laptops, our son plays on his brand new Wii, a pair of Mickey dream ears topping off his graduation day outfit. The back of the ears reads, “Live Your Dreams,” and yes indeed I am.

5 Responses to “Live Your Dreams”

  1. Carolyn June 13, 2008 at 10:50 pm #

    🙂

  2. Doc June 14, 2008 at 10:54 am #

    Very cool. Evidently there is something wrong with my postal service; I didn’t get mine. Sad.

  3. Dan! June 14, 2008 at 2:37 pm #

    Congrats to the Wachamacallit! Tell him we need to swap Wii numbers so we can trade Miis!
    -Dan!

  4. Jennifer June 15, 2008 at 9:39 am #

    Thanks Dan! I gave the Wachamacallit your congratulations, and we’ll send you our Wii number once we’ve got our act together on that front.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Celebration Vacations? No Thanks, Give Me Dreams « Broke Hoedown - September 25, 2008

    […] Because yes, I have indeed won some prizes in this sweepstakes. Two pairs of Dream Ears arrived on the day my son graduated from elementary school (a bigger day than I would have imagined), and this last pair arrived on a weary September […]

Leave a Reply

