Inspired by Kindness, Racing for the Cure

12 Jul

Astute and long-term Broke Hoedown readers may have noticed something’s changed about my eleven-year-old son recently: He’s cut his long, blond, curly hair. This was partly for sheer convenience; it’s hard to maintain hair of that length and texture. But there’s a bit more to it.

My extended family has been deeply affected by cancer in the past couple years. Two members of my husband’s family passed away recently, and several others are cancer survivors. And while the incidence in my family is higher than the statistical average, it’s by no means unique…I’m also watching cancer wreck havoc in the lives of many friends and colleagues.

My son’s response to this was quite clear and direct: He decided to donate his hair to Locks of Love, which “provides hairpieces to financially disadvantaged children in the United States and Canada under age 18 suffering from long-term medical hair loss from any diagnosis.”

In the tradition of parents and children everywhere, I’ve been inspired by the younger generation’s example. No, I won’t be growing my hair out to donate…I’m a bit too vain, and can’t stand the thought of growing my hair long (which looks awful on me) or letting it revert to its natural color (who knows what that is by now, anyway?).

Instead, I’ll follow in the example of Jonathan’s Team Voice, and that of so many others who use the WDW Half Marathon as a fundraising opportunity, as well as a focal point for their personal health goals. I can’t be in that particular race, but I can be inspired by their actions…and I’ve just registered for the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure, which works towards the promise “to save lives and end breast cancer forever by empowering people, ensuring quality care for all and energizing science to find the cures.” If you’d like to support my efforts, a web page is available for tax-deductible contributions.

4 Responses to “Inspired by Kindness, Racing for the Cure”

  1. Kitty's Dad July 14, 2008 at 5:47 am #

    It makes me very happy (and proud, too) to see how generous you are supporting those in need. You, collateraldamage, and watchamacallit are truly an inspiration for us all.

  2. Mickey July 14, 2008 at 4:40 pm #

    kudos to your son- I am sure you are so proud of him. thank you for sharing with all of us in the blogosphere….

  3. Shaun October 8, 2008 at 5:02 pm #

    The race is a great way to support cancer awareness. You can also send a text message to help fight Breast Cancer. mGive (text) “KOMEN” to 90999 to donate $5 to Susan G. Komen For The Cure! Spread the word!

  4. Jennifer October 8, 2008 at 5:11 pm #

    Cool, that does *seem* to be legit…but given how much spam and phishing goes on in these interwebs, if anybody knows otherwise please let me know!

Leave a Reply

