Why Does Minnie Have Less Storage Than Mickey?

21 Aug

No, I don’t have a coy little punchline about closet space. It’s just that an interesting marketing/design choice has been brought to my attention by the FairerScience blog:

Do you know about the A-DATA Disney mini COB (chip on board) flash memory Disk? No well, let me tell you about them. There are two– first there is the Minnie Mouse who is pink, holds 1 gig and sells for $9.99. Then of course there is Mickey Mouse who is, yup blue, stores 2 gigs and sells for $14.99.

What’s up with these design choices? Do the marketers think that girls (or their parents) wouldn’t pay the extra $5 for the extra gig of storage? Does Minnie’s excessive cuteness and wardrobe requirements leave less room for additional bytes?

I’m a feminist, a Disney freak, and a person who chews up disk space with a vengence. So, I don’t know whether I want to write a cranky letter, buy one of each, or do both.

3 Responses to “Why Does Minnie Have Less Storage Than Mickey?”

  1. Jennifer August 21, 2008 at 10:22 am #

    Ack, I am a bad BFF! Apparently Lisa blogged about this a few hours before I did, but I hadn’t seen her post before mine ran. Here’s a link to hers.

  2. sambycat August 22, 2008 at 12:34 am #

    Whoo! I scooped ya?!?!

  3. RichO August 22, 2008 at 9:03 am #

    I think it is because Minnie is petite and thus less storage room.
    Rich

Leave a Reply

