A Gay Whirl at Disneyland!

16 Sep

How fabulous is it that this vintage Disneyland ad showed up in Kevin Kidney’s blog the same week that Google news reminded me about Gay Days at Disneyland coming up October 3-5? Sigh…yet another fabulous event I’d love to attend, were it not for my ridiculously full (and admittedly wonderful) work and family life.

Man, the world has changed so much since I came out in 1985…when I went to the Gay Days web site, there was a big (and I’m guessing paid) ad for JoinLAPD.com. I remember years ago marching in Boston’s Lesbian and Gay Pride March (it was not yet a Parade, but still rather political), I remember the intense and solemn support for the Gay Officers Action League…it was still almost unthinkable that cops could come out. (And of course, I know this is still the case in many communities….I know the whole world ain’t LA…)

I’m digging the fact that KayCee Stroh of High School Musical is hosting a youth dance party, for those 20 and younger! My regular readers already know that I think HSM2 is wonderfully, irrepressibly queer, and a fabulous message to gay teens. I also feel the sudden need for a shout out to the Boston Alliance for Gay and Lesbian Youth, which certainly helped this bi chick get through her teen years mostly unscathed, and a bit better educated about the history of our community.

And I’m grooving on some of the merchandise…I’m particularly partial to this Gay Days 2008 pin! I must say I’m a bit disappointed by the t-shirts though! They show one of the shirts being worn by a lady, but clearly they’re all boy-cut shirts…nothing for the femmes among us. What gives? Who knows, maybe I’ll buy one anyway….I’ve got a pair of cutting sheers, I’d probably be able to turn it into something cute for MouseFest, right?

And hey, if anybody’s interested in learning more about the history of Gay Days Anaheim, you might want to check out Rethinking Disney: Private Control, Public Dimensions. It includes an essay, “Curiouser and Curiouser: Gay Days at the Disney Theme Parks,” which turned me onto thinking analytically and critically about the whole Disney Parks experience.

5 Responses to “A Gay Whirl at Disneyland!”

  1. Marlowe September 17, 2008 at 9:05 am #

    It’s hard to imagine that 23 years have passed since 1985. But I do remember you introducing us to your friends at BAGLY. And I do know how important those friends were during those years. May there always be groups and places (even DisneyWorld and HSM2) for gay and lesbian teens. And may there always be you bringing these messages to us all.

  2. Jennifer September 17, 2008 at 11:40 am #

    Thanks Dad! 🙂

  3. sambycat September 17, 2008 at 11:52 am #

    awwwwwwwwwwww!!!! group hug y’all! and happy belated bday, dad!!!!!!! 🙂

  4. Marlowe September 18, 2008 at 8:20 am #

    Thanks, sambycat!

  5. sydney August 2, 2009 at 12:48 pm #

    Interesting, I have been looking into this year’s event but I didn’t know much about the history.

Leave a Reply

