Excuse Me, May I Have This Gradu-Dance?

30 Oct
Spotted on the exit door at my local HSM-friendly movie cinema

Spotted on the exit door at my local HSM-friendly movie cinema

Embarrassing: Going to see High School Musical 3 by myself, especially since I was so sure I wouldn’t.

Humiliating: The kid behind the counter insisting on giving me the senior citizen discount.

Ahem. I am in fact 42 years old, I swear it!

I do wish they’d stuck with the title Gradu-Dancin’. It would have been perfectly in keeping with the vibe of the film, the big snazzy dance numbers, the seductive look on Ryan’s face as he gives that attractive half-shirtless man a quick second look in the “Everything” number. This isn’t a movie about plot, or character development, or any particular statement….it’s all about the shiny hot pink pants (yes, on Ryan), the basketball-themed dance number, the familiar strains of “We’re All in This Together” showing up at the predictable, right moment. Tonight, I wanted to see somebody live happily ever after, and I was not disappointed.

I must say, though, that I was more than a little irritated by the final dance number, “High School Musical,” which simultaneously begged the audience not to abandon the franchise as Troy and Gabriella move on, and promised yet more sanitized teen drama. And every now and then, I wished I had a fast-forward button. Mostly during Gabriella’s and Troy’s big dramatic solos and duets. And, um, given the theme of “I’m okay, you’re okay” that weaves through HSM and HSM2, why did we have to have a nerd as the butt of jokes? Doesn’t everybody deserve a little crème brûlée?

But mostly, it was harmless campy fun. I’ll still look forward to the DVD release, since I lost count of Ryan’s hats during the first big-budget dance number (that was such a fun game in HSM2!). And maybe when that DVD comes out, I can get my nieces to come over and watch it with me. And hopefully they won’t be bringing my AARP membership card.

2 Responses to “Excuse Me, May I Have This Gradu-Dance?”

  1. collateraldamage October 31, 2008 at 9:49 am #

    I trust no reviewer who saw this without being surrounded by screaming young girls. Harrrumph.

  2. Marlowe October 31, 2008 at 11:20 am #

    A seniors discount? Really? I can’t believe it. Thats shocking.

Leave a Reply

