Jentasmic: On Toy Story 3 and the Barbie Liberation Organization

2 Jul

Is Toy Story 3 sexist? This week in my Jentasmic! column at StudiosCentral, I explore this question, and can’t resist mentioning one of my favorite guerrilla groups.

Old folks like myself remember way back in the early 1990s, when furor arose over a talking Barbie doll that said, “Math is hard!” and “I love shopping!” (It’s hard to imagine this doll could hit the market today, but if she did, I’m sure Computer Engineer Barbie could help her out.) On the surface, it’s easy to dismiss this as not being particularly damning, since in fact many people struggle with math, and enjoy conspicuous consumption. But with a screwdriver, a soldering iron, and a little ingenuity, the contrast between “boys toys” and “girls toys” was made clear

And come to think of it, in Toy Story 3 it often does seem as if Barbie’s had a bit of a personality transplant. Nice job, Pixar.

4 Responses to “Jentasmic: On Toy Story 3 and the Barbie Liberation Organization”

  1. sambycat July 4, 2010 at 8:18 pm #

    she’s a barbie girl, in a barbie world….

  2. Marlowe July 27, 2010 at 6:10 am #

    No I know I have to see Toy Story 3

  3. Marlowe July 27, 2010 at 6:11 am #

    Oops…it should have been NOW I know I have to see Toy Story 3.

  4. paul August 8, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

    People need to get a life and just enjoy our free speach. Who care if the toy story wants to express there views. Right or wrong who are we to say. Life would be a drag if every one thought the same. Every day I hear the sexist card played. people get over it. LOL

Leave a Reply

