Jentasmic! Moneysavers: The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

16 Jul

I was surprised that the first comment on this week’s Jentasmic! was arguing that one doesn’t have to tip housekeeping unless one has trashed the room. Really? C’mon, people.

I do a lot of things to save money on Disney trips. Just one simple example:

Breakfast in my room has always worked out really well. Sometimes I’ve been offsite with a kitchen, eating many meals offsite. Sometimes I’ve been onsite without so much as a mini-fridge, and packed nonperishable breakfast foods in my carry-on. Either way, I’m just as happy having a quick and easy meal while watching Stacy on TV before I head out. Every now and then I might treat myself to a Mickey waffle from the food court, too.

I may be cheap. I’ve carried almonds and canned fruit in my carry-on in order to save a few bucks on breakfasts from the food court. I’ve brought a notebook from home for character autographs rather than buy the fancy in-park books for 5 times the price. But I won’t leave the room in the morning without tipping the housekeeping staff. Everybody’s got their priorities.

Head on over to Studios Central to read the rest, and maybe leave a comment if you like.

3 Responses to “Jentasmic! Moneysavers: The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly”

  1. Marlowe July 27, 2010 at 6:08 am #

    Thank goodness there are thoughtful and kind people like you in this world!

  2. gloria August 8, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    We also bring food when we go to Disney. Most people cant afford $10.00. for one hot dog.& $5.00 for a coke.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. TDC#116 Motel Kids of the OC « Those Darn Cats - August 10, 2010

    […] Broke Hoedown and Jentasmic Columns can be found here and here. As a public service, no links to the “Mickey’s Gonna Dance Now!” song […]

Leave a Reply

