DIY RFID-Blocking Duct Tape Wallet

10 Nov

I’m going to Walt Disney World in just 24 days, for WDW Today Reunion 2013! But I have some concerns about the use of active and passive RFIDs in the new MagicBands, and of passive RFIDs in the resort hotel room keys. So, I’m planning to skip the MagicBand and just stick with the room key, which I can store in this nifty RFID-blocking wallet I just made with a little help from Instructables, a few things I had around the house, and some cute Hello Kitty duct tape my sister-in-law gave me. The RFID-blocking component is aluminum foil, sandwiched between two sheets of duct tape to make the main body of the wallet.

Note the fancy-schmancy Monorail Pilot license in the ID holder!

Note the fancy-schmancy Monorail Pilot license in the ID holder!

Lining of the money pocket and the change pocket (not shown) is Hello Kitty.

Lining of the money pocket and the change pocket (not shown) is Hello Kitty.

It took about 90 minutes to make the wallet. I think it would go faster next time, since I had a little trouble at first working with the duct tape. The Hello Kitty duct tape was more forgiving than the standard silver duct tape when it came to accidentally sticking things together and having to pull them apart, perhaps because the cutesy patterned duct tapes seem to have been designed primarily for crafting, not taping ducts (which actually turns out to not be a good use of duct tape, nominative determinism notwithstanding.

I might just make a little pouch for Magic Bands, too, but I haven’t been about to find good sources on whether active RFIDs are blocked by aluminum foil; I’m trusting Consumer Reports that the foil blocks passive RFIDs.

And yes, a tinfoil hat will be necessary, strictly for fashion purposes. A project for another day.

4 Responses to “DIY RFID-Blocking Duct Tape Wallet”

  1. oneyunker May 4, 2014 at 12:19 pm #

    Thanks for the information. I was not even aware of this issue until I read this. So is it possible then for your card to accidentally get used just by being near like a register or something? Does that also mean someone with the right equipment could possibly walk by you and duplicate your card and start using it?

  2. Jennifer May 4, 2014 at 1:18 pm #

    It’s unlikely that it would be accidentally read near a register. Also, no valuable information is stored on the band itself, so someone scanning for RFID info would only be able to capture the unique ID code on your band; the rest of the info is stored on Disney’s systems.

    What bugs me is the potential for constant, undeclared tracking by Disney, and the data mining that would likely accompany it. It feels intrusive to me. I’d rather control when they read the tag than just know they can read it at any time without me knowing.

  3. oneyunker May 4, 2014 at 4:06 pm #

    That makes more sense. Yeah I agree that is kind of intrusive. And most people if asked to participate in a study like that would probably say yes but would like to know up front. I have heard complaints from the cast members because their new ids have that technology in them so they can be tracked all over Disney World.

  4. Mike July 18, 2014 at 11:44 am #

    This is such a good idea, thanks so much for sharing! 🙂

Leave a comment