Disney vs. Nickelodeon: Battle of the Brands

28 Nov

The Orlando Sentinel has a story today about the brand competition between Disney and Nickelodeon, embodied in the Nick Hotel right outside WDW campus.

Though the Disney empire dwarfs Nickelodeon’s, Orlando marketing analyst Britt Beemer said even a giant like Disney needs to be on guard.

“If Dora the Explorer is the hot item for your children and Minnie Mouse isn’t, Disney has something to worry about,” Beemer said. “In this area, you are either right or dead. You are either the hunter or the hunted. The hotel in Disney’s backyard speaks to this. Nickelodeon knows its audience, and that audience is at Disney.”

The Nick Hotel also differs from Disney’s offerings in that it’s operated by a partner organization, Holiday Inn, and participates in the associated hotel points program (Disney’s Swan and Dolphin fit the former, but not the latter as far as I can tell). This may not sound like much, but it scores big with frequent business travelers like myself who rack up points during business travel and want to cash them in with the family. And Cosmo didn’t seem even the slightest bit threatened by my Mickey Mouse t-shirt.

Visiting with Cosmo

9 Responses to “Disney vs. Nickelodeon: Battle of the Brands”

  1. madddog54 July 29, 2007 at 5:11 pm #

    nickelodeon vs disney scale disney channel good shows:suite life.total 1.nicks good shows.spongbob,farily odd parents,and drake and josh.total 3.winner nick!

  2. dailee johnson July 10, 2008 at 9:49 pm #

    I think that is the most dumbest picture that I have ever seen

  3. john nick January 24, 2009 at 11:38 am #

    nick is better than disney.

  4. john nick January 24, 2009 at 11:39 am #

    nick is better than disney
    so shut-up disney.

  5. danielle March 11, 2009 at 5:00 am #

    Nickelodeon may have better shows than Disney, but the language Nick uses are sometimes not suitable for young viewers.

    Ex.
    “OH MY GOD” – blasphemy against God
    “You kissed my wife.” –Drake and Josh, though it may be Teen Nick, some kids still watch that

  6. Marisa April 25, 2009 at 7:29 pm #

    Nick is better than Disney!
    I like Waverly Place but I preffer Nick…I like drake & josh, zoey101, sponge bob, fairy odd parents, danny phamton, teenage robot, trollz, catdog, isa tkm, karku, and every Nick programs!
    Nick is better for teenages!

  7. Victoria July 29, 2009 at 2:47 pm #

    Oh my goodness GRACIOUS. Disney wins, hands down. There IS no comparison. While both studios have an array of shows that I enjoy watching time and time again (I can’t get enough of Josh from “Drake & Josh” ; Jackson from “Hannah Montana” makes me laugh until tears stream out of my eyes!) I feel that Disney’s programs are always well grounded and appropriate for any age. If I were a parent monitoring my child’s TV, I would definitely place Disney Channel at a far higher rank than Nickelodeon. Many of my peers deem Disney’s series as “cheesy;” I see Nickelodeon’s programs as just, simply stupid. At the end of the day, Drake & Josh may be amusingand cute, but Hannah Montana always ends on a sound moral note, instilling proper character traits into their viewers. Call me old fashioned, but I truly believe that the actors from “The Suite Life of Zack & Cody” and “Sonny with a Chance” are GOOD kids that I myself would love to be around. Disney’s actors (though some may argue that they’re brainwashed [don’t even get me STARTED]) are positive role models for children. Miley Cyrus’ “revealing” photographs for Vogue Magazine is nothing compared to sixteen year old Jamie Lynn Spears’ pregnancy out of wedlock! What kind of message does that send out to teens?! Though Nickelodeon’s viewing numbers are higher than Disney’s, the mouse channel has not ceased in being both entertaining and safe.

  8. johnvinz August 12, 2009 at 8:29 am #

    nickelodeon is better than disney.battle spongebob vs mickey.that’s my comparison.who wins?spongebob

  9. ABHIJEET February 24, 2011 at 2:25 am #

    ALTHOUGH, NICK HAS DIED OUT IN INDIA BY JAPANESE CARTOONS, I STILL PREFER CATDOG OVER MICKEY! DISNEY IS BECOMING MTV!!!!

Leave a comment