Favorite Disney/MGM Studios Memories

18 Jan

My Jentasmic! column today recounts some of my favorite memories of the now-extinct Disney/MGM Studios park. Sure, Disney’s Hollywood Studios is virtually indistinguishable from MGM, but I needed a hook for the column, and will take any excuse to reminisce. Here’s one of the memories, just to try to encourage you to read the rest over at StudiosCentral:

4) Stars and Motor Cars Parade, October 2006. Yeah, I know, I know. It’s nobody’s favorite parade. But see, here’s the thing. I’m quite the Star Wars fan, and my son’s following in my footsteps (he easily whups me at Star Wars Trivial Pursuit these days). And most of our WDW trips have been during the holidays, when the Star Wars characters take a break from their parade duties (what, maybe they’re up at the North Pole helping the elves pack gifts?). But that October we were lucky enough to make a special trip, so we finally got to see R2 cruise down Hollywood Boulevard. I tried to get a decent video for YouTube, but the audio track was too full of my shouting, “Oh my God, it’s Artoo! It’s Chewie! Hey, Artoo, come over here!”

Oh, and by the way, if you’re still looking for a new tattoo for Star Wars Weekends, Hello Kitty Hell has a little fodder for you:

7 Responses to “Favorite Disney/MGM Studios Memories”

  1. Dan! January 19, 2008 at 10:57 am #

    Thanks for sending me to Hello Kitty Hell, where I wasted a good half-hour of my day. Thanks a lot. 😛
    -Dan!

  2. biblioadonis aka George January 19, 2008 at 11:44 am #

    Is that evil cute?

    I am sooooo confused now.

  3. Jennifer January 19, 2008 at 3:00 pm #

    Always glad I can be there for you Dan!

    Evil, cute? Yay!

  4. Eric January 19, 2008 at 11:40 pm #

    Or is it cute evil?

  5. Jennifer January 20, 2008 at 10:56 am #

    Either way, you can’t really go wrong.

  6. Eric January 20, 2008 at 2:59 pm #

    Hey, you got evil in my cute!

    You got cute in my evil!

  7. Jennifer January 20, 2008 at 3:23 pm #

    Two great tastes that taste great together!

Leave a comment