Disney Cosplay Pictures from Anime Boston 2008

26 Mar

Is this not the most amazing Davy Jones costume you’ve ever seen? Well, outside of Industrial Light and Magic, that is? This guy was in the shopping mall right outside Anime Boston, flocked of course by the paparazzi.

There aren’t too many people cosplaying Disney characters at anime conventions . . . after all, they are anime conventions, dedicated to Japanese animation. But there are usually a few. For some reason, there are usually too many Jack Sparrows, and I quickly lose count. There’s always a bunch of Kingdom Hearts cosplayers, probably far more than I would recognize as I haven’t played the game myself. I was particularly impressed by this woman’s costume , though, especially since it was a player-created character. I also saw a few women dressed as Snow White or Sleeping Beauty . . . but only caught a snapshot of the cosplayer pictured here.

There’s always a few Miyazaki characters too, and some of these folks are familiar to Disney fans, since Disney distributes Miyazaki’s films in the United States. There were a few people dressed up as Totoro this year, but my favorite Miyazaki cosplay at AB08 was this young woman, cosplaying the main character from Kiki’s Delivery Service. (And I must say, she looked way cuter as Kiki than I did when I cosplayed that character in 2004!)

It’s definitely been brought to my attention that Disney fans think it’s pretty weird that some of us anime fans dress up as our favorite characters. Um, people, about those glass houses? I do believe that plenty of Disney costumes come in grown-up sizes . . . and I do believe they get bought. We anime fans just don’t feel the need to confine our dress-up time to Halloween.

And hey, while I’m posting pictures . . . I now have rock-solid, photographic evidence that there’s at least one person in the world who listens to MouseGuest Weekly, and who is neither related to me nor on the show themself! Here’s the picture of our MouseGuest Micro-Meet. Thanks for coming to meet up with us, Chris!

10 Responses to “Disney Cosplay Pictures from Anime Boston 2008”

  1. sambycat March 26, 2008 at 7:58 pm #

    awesome pics! i think i saw snow white at the half marathon!!!

  2. BostonMouse March 26, 2008 at 8:53 pm #

    It was great to meet you and the family and Dan. I love my daughter’s face in the picture, she looks so enthused. Oh welll, she’s 3 and I can’t blame her for being a little bored. She did enjoy pointing out all the people with different colored hair.

  3. LK March 26, 2008 at 11:41 pm #

    Actually, I’m going to say this guy wins for best Davy Jones. 🙂

  4. sambycat March 27, 2008 at 6:47 am #

    but he brought a water feature – no fair

  5. Jennifer March 27, 2008 at 9:57 am #

    All is fair in love and cosplay!

    It must have been amazing to see him walk through the convention center with all that water . . . did he bring a super-size kiddie pool? 😉

  6. Mireille March 29, 2008 at 3:43 pm #

    I’m surprised we didn’t make it on here. We were the three disney princesses.

  7. Cosplay Talk Forum March 30, 2008 at 8:32 am #

    Wow, the Davy Jones really is quite something.

  8. Jennifer March 30, 2008 at 12:00 pm #

    Mireille, thanks for stopping by! I do think I saw you three roaming the halls, but never managed to grab a snapshot. The whole weekend was such a crazy blur!

  9. Miriam April 3, 2008 at 12:09 am #

    I was there too as King Mickey, but I only cosplayed on Sunday and two hours on Saturday as him. Me and one of the Jack Sparrows were discussing possibly having a large KH group next year, including Disney people. In fact, I’m pretty sure we have most of the princesses of Heart (but they may not be ready by 09)

  10. paul August 8, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    Look s like you had a great time, thankd for the post. I like the anime conventions,I cant belive how popular they have gotten this year.

Leave a comment