Disney Ads on NSFW Sites

27 Mar

I think the headline here makes it clear . . . but the links below are probably not appropriate to follow from your office computer, or if your kid is reading over your shoulder. I even starred-out a blog name in the text below, to try to stay PG-13.

Apparently some of Disney’s ad buys are showing up in places you wouldn’t expect them . . . like smut sites. At least, that’s what Defamer tells me:

Occasionally, when the planets align just so and the sun strikes the Earth at the exact right location, we witness that rarest of phenomena known as Disney Ads on Smut Sites. Or at least that’s what gutter-minded rabblerouser [*******] calls it, having caught as many as six different instances of Walt Disney World Web ads aligned beside Egotastic’s recent coverage of sex tapes, flashings and other NSFW (and definitely NSFDW) mini-scandals.

I had to think twice about whether I wanted to blog about this, because I already get plenty of traffic from people looking for materials I don’t carry here, and I’m sure this will lead to more disappointed people, hunting for something salacious and finding me whining about bus service at Saratoga Springs. Man, what a buzz kill.

But it struck me as kinda funny, plus I have to admit I was amused to discover the acronym “NSFDW.” I initially took it to mean “Not Safe for Disney World,” but now I wonder if it means something else. My friend Google introduced me to Malaysia’s National Standards for Drinking Water, but I’ll bet that wasn’t it. In any case, I think we need a new interweb meme: NSFWDW.

Leave a Reply

